Women's Update
CVU.com > Women's Update > News Story

Steller Spiker Teams Show Distinct Excellence in 2010


The Collegiate Volleyball Update (CVU) is pleased to announce its selection of the 2010 CVU.com Stellar Spiker teams.

In honoring the 103 student athletes from across the nation, CVU.com looked for players that exhibited excellence and balance. While NCAA statistical rankings were considered, they weren't the only consideration. Also considered in forming the two teams of 14 and in choosing the 75 Honorable Mention selections was the impact the player had on helping her team succeed as well as conference awards.

First- and Second-Team selections were formed around the idea of building a team with a starting lineup of seven players and then two players per starting slot were chosen to fill out each team.

The Honorable Mention team did not follow this pattern.

CVU.com Stellar Spikers First Team

Name Position Class Team Conference
Tyler Henderson OH So. Tulsa Conference USA
Alix Klineman OH Sr. Stanford Pac-10
Tarah Murrey OH Jr. California Pac-10
Kanani Danielson OH Jr. Hawai'i WAC
Lauren Gibbemeyer MB Sr. Minnesota Big Ten
Brittany Hewitt MB So. Hawai'i WAC
Lindsay Fletemier MB Sr. Dayton Atlantic 10
Ashley Benson MB Sr. Indiana Big Ten
Brooke Delano MB Jr. Nebraska Big 12
Blair Brown MH/Opp Sr. Penn State Big Ten
Alyssa Rio L Sr. Ball State Mid-American
Taylor Root L So. Valparaiso Horizon
Carli Lloyd S Sr. California Pac-10
Jordan Clampitt S So. Tulsa Conference USA

CVU.com Stellar Spikers Second Team

Name Position Class Team Conference
Kayleigh Giddens OH Sr. New Mexico State WAC
Stephanie Niemer OH Sr. Cincinnati Big East
Alex Jupiter OH Jr. USC Pac-10
Ali Troost RS Sr. San Diego West Coast
Kelly Murphy S/OH Jr. Florida SEC
Katie Post OH/MB Jr. Ohio Mid-American
Arielle Wilson MH Sr. Penn State Big Ten
Alex Kelly MB Sr. Lipscomb Atlantic Sun
Megan Plourde MB So. Colorado State Mountain West
Haleigh Hampton MB Fr. Long Beach State Big West
Tracey Lam L Sr. Rice Conference USA
Kim Maroon L Jr. Villanova Big East
Kelsi Meyers S Sr. San Diego West Coast
Kendall Bateman S Jr. USC Pac-10

CVU.com Stellar Spikers Honorable Mention

Name Position Class Team Conference
Ellie Blankenship L Sr. Northern Iowa Missouri Valley
Abby O'Connor L Sr. Eastern Kentucky Ohio Valley
Haley Stein L Jr. Eastern Michigan Mid-American
Alana Wittenburg L Sr. Drake Missouri Valley
Brianne Barker S Jr. Oklahoma Big 12
Megan Bober S So. Creighton Missouri Valley
Kellie Catanach S Jr. Duke ACC
Annie Fesl S Sr. Cincinnati Big East
Hillary Haen S Sr. Illinois Big Ten
Jaclyn Hart S Sr. Purdue Big Ten
Dani Mafua S Sr. Hawai'i WAC
Bre Payton S Jr. Northern Iowa Missouri Valley
Jake Pease S Sr. Lipscomb Atlantic Sun
Sam Viox S Jr. Western Michigan Mid-American
Jessica Yanz S Sr. Dayton Atlantic 10
Lexi Zimmerman S Sr. Michigan Big Ten
Cassidy Lichtman S/OH Sr. Stanford Pac-10
Rachael Adams MB Jr. Texas Big 12
Jayme Bazile MB So. Lamar Southland
Lucy Charuk MB Sr. Houston Conference USA
Kelli Fiegen MB So. South Dakota State Summit
Elizabeth Graham MB Sr. Baylor Big 12
Shannon Lowell MB Sr. Saint Mary's West Coast
Sarah McGee MB Sr. Wichita State Missouri Valley
Sabel Moffett MB Sr. Northwestern Big Ten
Lauren Rapp MB Sr. Kentucky SEC
Amanda Robertson MB Jr. Duke ACC
Erin Saddler MB Sr. Cal State Fullerton Big West
Jamie Straube MB So. Iowa State Big 12
Regina Thomas MB Jr. Mississippi SEC
Tiffany Elmore MH Jr. Western Kentucky Sun Belt
Sandra Adeleye MH So. Clemson ACC
Lindsey Licht RS Sr. Nebraska Big 12
Monique Mead RS So. Georgia Tech ACC
Paola Ampudia OH/RS Sr. Missouri Big 12
Kerri Schuh OH/RS Jr. Milwaukee Horizon
Lola Arslanbekova OH So. Louisville Big East
Karyl Bacon OH Sr. Liberty Big South
Michelle Bartsch OH Jr. Illinois Big Ten
Angela Bensend OH Sr. LSU SEC
Kelsey Black OH Jr. Texas A&M Big 12
Lane Carico OH Jr. Miami ACC
Kindra Carlson OH Sr. Washington Pac-10
Teresa Coppiellie OH Sr. Albany America East
Amanda Cowdrey OH Sr. Dayton Atlantic 10
Amy DeGroot OH Sr. San Diego West Coast
Visnja Djurdjevic OH Jr Florida State ACC
Katie Dull OH Sr. Ohio State Big Ten
Svenja Engelhardt OH Sr. Pacific Big West
Juliann Faucette OH Sr. Texas Big 12
Falyn Fonoimoana OH Fr. USC Pac-10
Nikki Fowler OH Sr. Tennessee SEC
Victoria Henson OH Sr. Iowa State Big 12
Amanda Hill OH Sr. Charleston Southern Big South
Alex Hunt OH Jr. Michigan Big Ten
Sue Jacobi OH Sr. Ohio Mid-American
Izabela Kozon OH Sr. Middle Tennessee Sun Belt
Caitlin Ledoux OH Jr. Long Beach State Big West
Liz McArthur OH Jr. Utah State WAC
Deja McClendon OH Fr. Penn State Big Ten
Dicey McGraw OH Sr. UCLA Pac-10
Lisa Meeter OH Sr. New Mexico Mountain West
Leah Meffert OH Sr. Tennessee Tech Ohio Valley
Ashley Mell OH Jr. Southern Miss Conference USA
Heather Meyers OH Sr. Oregon Pac-10
Danielle Minch OH Sr. Colorado State Mountain West
Tiffany Owens OH Sr. Arizona Pac-10
Becky Perry OH Sr. Washington Pac-10
Whitney Phillips OH Sr. Portland State Big Sky
Callie Rivers OH Sr. Florida SEC
Chloe Smith OH Sr. Central Arkansas Southland
Colleen Ward OH Jr. Illinois Big Ten
Hannah Werth OH So. Nebraska Big 12
Lauren Wicinski OH Fr. Northern Illinois Mid-American
Jessica Wolfe OH So. Butler Horizon

Story Extras

Player of the Year